biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

"hard to admit i fought the war on drugs"
December 18, 2003, 6:43 pm

This isn't Biensoul. Oh no. She's been replaced by a living, breathing mound of phyllo dough and hazelnuts and brownies and ganache and candy canes and egg nog and more baklava and more baklava and chocolate chip cookies and kisses and more kisses and sugar. Having multiple holiday gatherings for various family friends has taken the toll on the old diet, folks. Not that I was particularly steadfast to begin with, but I had lost eight pounds. Why is it not possible for me to pass a candy tray without snagging whatever is in it and shoving into my mouth? As Penfold used to say, "Corr!"

Last night saw Barenaked Ladies and Sarah McLachlan. Dude, read Dave's journal 'cause he describes it so pretty. Since I don't want to particularly bore you with my screaming fangirldom, I'll just level with you that I was pleasantly surprised with the inclusion of "Enid" in BNL's set, blown away by "War On Drugs," and that I concur that in the eight times (I've actually seen them in concert ten times) that I've seen them sing "Alcohol," last night was the best. Damn, I love me some hot Steven Page/Ed Robertson action.

On Tuesday, Yaya had her writing class friends over for lunch, and I hooked planning to come spend it with them. Two summers ago I spent every Friday at the senior center, teaching a writing class for senior citizens. I'm telling you, best class I've ever had. These people...the stories they tell...I know there's a more eloquent update in it for me, but just know for now that it was lovely.

Car is fixed. Damage wasn't as bad as I had thought, and the cost wasn't as exorbitant as promised, but it still hurts to throw down too much this time of year.

Oh, we're doing Godspell for the spring musical. I'm stoked and very, very excited to direct such a cool show. (Ed. note: Please remember that statement and on April 12th, when I'll undoubtedly be a sobbing, sniveling mess cowering in a corner wishing I was dead, remind me that once upon a time I enjoyed the prospect of doing the show. Thanks.)

More cool news: one day left of school for 2003. News flash: I'm also applying to two grad schools, I think. *hugs*

last - next