biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

christosta neste
April 11, 2004, 3:39 pm

Easter has been in an evolution stage for my family.

When we were little (and I mean, up until I was about nineteen years old), the week before Easter would send the three Biensoul sisters to every department store in the greater Annapolis area, searching for an Easter dress that would fit and wasn't trampy or cheap. Yaya always purchased our Easter dresses for us, and from about thirteen on, I found a way to throw a crying fit in the dressing room, pawing unsuitable dresses from one rack to the next. Easter would come and would bring us THREE baskets chock-loaded with candy (Yaya and Papou's, Grandma and Grandpa's, and the Easter Bunny). We'd head to Yaya's house for a day of sugar-induced rushing, dancing, and an egg hunt (which I graciously let my sisters and cousins win every freaking year). Then the cracking of the eggs, a ham dinner, and we'd go home, stuffed, somehow forgetting that the holiday was religious.

But in recent years, with my dad and my sister in the Greek Orthodox fold, Easter has been a non-event. First, Greek Easter mostly falls weeks after "regular" Easter, so the bunnies and Peeps don't wind up anywhere near our house. Mostly we just go to Greek church from midnight until 3am, sing songs, and giggle as my dad tries to balance his candle amidst the melting wax burning his hands. It's nice, but it's not the same.

Every holiday seems to be losing its luster, and I don't know if it's because I'm old now, or if in the drama of my everyday life they're just sneaking up on me twenty times faster.

For what it's worth, TheCritic, I know exactly what you're saying.

On a good note? All that Easter candy won't ruin my diet progress...okay, so I have one fucking Easter bunny...minus its head. HEY! Some things are sacred, and gnawing on a chocolate bunny head just happens to be an Easter tradition I'm not ready to surrender!

last - next