biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

a better kind of boredom
January 22, 2005, 9:59 am

The snow is coming down, hard, and it's almost guaranteed that I'll be stuck here through Monday. I'm not complaining.

His Thumperness is busy in the kitchen, making me a breakfast with bacon and eggs and other things that he knows I like when I wake up in the morning.

I have only slept at my house once this past week.

Things are, in the parlance of our times, getting serious. As serious as they can when neither person wants to say "I love you, so let's get married and have lots of babies." There has been no mention of the fact that my clothes are occupying a small section of the cupboard and that I have my own toothbrush here. There has been mention of the fact that the dogs love me and cry when I'm away; there has been mention that the world is a better place because I'm around (and you know, the world don't move to the beat of just one drum...). I know at least that I have him until Valentine's Day as I will have an honest-to-goodness Valentine for the first time in four years (coincidence that he was my last Valentine, too?) and the girly squee part of me is delighted.

My parents and Yaya have taken the infatuation in stride; my mom and Yaya prepared a four course meal with the fine china on Thursday night, apparently for his presence. Everyone was on their best behavior and was having a lovely time and then Thumper opened his mouth to say something (I'm sure) profound and intelligent, and let loose with the most ludriciously sounding belch I've ever heard (and having been friends with blulinepaper for almost fifteen years, you know that's saying something!). The look on his face was a mix between sheer terror and panic, and he launched into a barrage of apologies, and I thought "Oh God, there go the monogrammed towels" when Yaya pipes up, "You know dear, that's a compliment in a lot of cultures." Tension broken. Yaya saves the day.

After our fancy dinner, we watched MXC in the basement with my dad, because nothing says class like laughing one's fool head off at the Japanese getting pelted with styrofoam boulders or falling head-first into a field of mud.

So it's snowing, and I'm here, and really, truly, honestly, I couldn't be happier...and really, truly, honestly, that makes me boring. ;)

I made him watch The Big Lebowski

last - next