biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

taking stock of 2004
December 31, 2004, 3:37 pm

2004 will go down in the tome of my life not as the Year of Independence (as promised), but as the Year That Sucked for Six Months and Then Turned Out To Be Not That Bad.

Last January had me gasping for breath in a very shallow pool, and unfortunately, things didn't start looking up for me at all as February coughed its way through March and April. I fought my better instincts, discovered some icky demons, and was very, very afraid.

But then I went to England to visit KatSlater, and seemingly it set the tone that the remaining six months of 2004 would not be a complete wash-out. Instead, I returned to school with awesome kids, awesome classes, and a low as far as stress was concerned. Growth? Sure. Maturity? Come on, now. A settling, realizing that life, as we know is Not That Bad, in fact, It Rocks? Absolutely. In a span of four months, all the battle scars from the first part of the year faded, and I am content knowing that as 2005 arrives in a few hours, and even though I haven't graded a single paper in a week, This Year Will Be Okay. Trust me when I say: I am happy.

Best wishes for an amazing 2005; I know as the ball drops, my cry of "Happy New Year" will be the loudest of them all.

Drink some for me!

last - next