biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Summer Book List 2006
June 21, 2006, 5:42 pm

Every summer, I make the GRAND PACT:

I will read at least 20 books this summer.

In past summers, I have gotten prettydarnclose to this goal, utilizing most of my time spent in cars, on trains, or on planes to reach it. I'm not sure if it is really feasible given the number of projects I have assigned myself over the course of these next two months, but I'll try my darnedest.

To keep me honest, and to keep track, I offer you this summer's list as I anticipate it to be. Keep in mind there are a number of young adult novels on here so I can keep up with my classroom library. If you have some suggestions or ideas, I would be happy to hear them. Check back to this list to see my reviews and my progress!

1.I Am Charlotte Simmons by Tom Wolfe--completed 6/20; Heart-wrenching and too realistic to stomach, this is the book I'll give my daughter to explain what life was like "when Mommy was in college."
2.Twelve Sharp by Janet Evanovich--Stephanie Plum! completed 6/23; Seriously, the later in this series, the more I get pissed off at Stephanie for not settling down with Joe Morelli. HE LOVES DOUGHNUTS! HE EATS PIZZA! Anyway, lots of zany antics with Lula and Grandma Mazur as always, but this time? LOTS of info on Ranger that you probably didn't want to know. Why ruin the Man of Mystery by telling us stuff about him?
3.Flowers for Algernon by
4.Son of the Mob by
5.The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler--completed 6/21; the first page made me giggle, and then it made me uncomfortable. This book is the book I would have written at 15; "The Fat Girl's Code Of Conduct" unfortunately is something any chunky gal can relate to, and the family's responses to the brother's date-rape charges seem exactly how a family desperate to be perfect would try to cover up. A good read for Young Adults, definitely.
6.Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer
7.Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
8.A Widow For One Year by John Irving
9.Breakfast Of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut
10.Jane Austen Book Club
11.This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen
12.Night by Elie Wiesel--Repeat; I'm lucky enough to teach it again in the fall for the first time in a few years.
13.The Giver
14.The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd
15.Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
16.Bronx Masquerade by Nikki Grimes
17.After
18.Everyone Worth Knowing by Lauren Whatever
19.Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys
20.Peaches by

last - next