biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

jesus was a carpenter
January 05, 2004, 11:22 pm

Must share this horribly accurate teaching metaphor:

"If I were a carpenter, and had the same success that I've had as a teacher for 29 years, I'd have two bent two-by-fours with a bent rusty nail sticking them together and a note that said 'I tried. I did my work.' Seriously, I would have never built a building!" --science teacher

I think, in my three years, I have a pretty good foundation. At the very least, there was a rickety foundation and now some of the cracks have been filled in and it's on more stable ground. Maybe it won't turn out to be a skyscraper, but it has a solid foundation, and that's okay with me.

In other news, I'm in a play. The actors I work with are superb; I look like a gigantic toolbox when I'm stammering through my lines compared to them. I'm serious. I needed a good kick in the teeth of humility because whew, are these folks good. It's exhilerating and I'm glad I'm doing it; I'm also rather enjoying the large helping of humble pie that I'm wolfing down because of it.

EYE UPDATE: I'm going to wake up tomorrow with an entire BLOOD RED EYE. This is NOT good. Perhaps I should run away to the jungle and befriend amphibians who share my ocular oddities. Or maybe I'll just watch some more 24.

last - next