biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

superintendent, schmuperintendent, it's the county council that sucks
May 15, 2003, 2:27 pm

This is the scene in the main office:

Teachers, in various states of stress and day-glo "spring" colors circling like sharks outside the principal's office, fanning themselves with today's big surprise: a memo from both our principal and our superintendent stating that we, under no circumstances, may strike or have a "sick out" or anything like that.

All of this talk makes my stomach turn.

Why? Well, I'm sad that some teachers don't have a conscience. I cannot leave school every day at 2:47pm when there's about 100 kids counting on me to stay. I cannot let my kids be taught by some substitute that will prescribe them some busy work because I'm out of school. I cannot let on to my kids that the only reason I'm here is because of a paycheck...

which is how we're in this predicament in the first place.

And it's not just us...the firemen and policemen are in trouble, too. THEY can't strike and let people die just as we can't strike and let young minds to go underutilized and unappreciated. The "Man" knows this and THIS is why our backs are against the wall:

stand up, be replaced; sit down and don't say anything, you'll be shit on.

When I was in 8th grade, my friends and I rallied the entire middle school to stage a "sit-in" in honor of our parents who were teachers and who couldn't have one themselves to protest the budget cuts that would leave them empty-handed.

The atmosphere here is palpable; when teachers get their blood boiling, there's no stopping the overflow.

Off to the meeting to hear people yell...

last - next