biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

the impossible color conundrum
January 05, 2009, 7:52 pm

Oh, the wedding drama.

First, there's my future sister-in-law, who insisted (the day we got engaged), that her zombie-Ritalin-addled, DS playin' kids get to have $90 crabcakes at my reception when I explicitly said, "NO KIDS."

Then, there's the economy who shits a brick, landing my ridiculous fancy wedding in a world of hurt, causing me to cut about ninety-bagillion people off the guest list.

NOW, there's the color concern.

I have ALWAYS wanted navy bridesmaids' dresses. ALWAYS. Classy and chic, and looks good on anyone, I knew navy has been my color since I started watching what was important about twelve years ago. Add in a twist of turquoise because it *was* different (until Martha Stewart declared it THE color combo for 2009! That bitch has stolen almost ALL of my ideas!) when I chose it for real in September, and voila! Navy and turquoise wedding! Throw in some yellow accent flowers and tada! Weddingy wedding in April!

I chose my bridesmaids' dresses a while ago and it took approximately three nervous breakdowns to score the EXACT shade of navy (really, midnight) I was going for; the turquoise I chose is not AQUA, thank you, but a flightly, electric blue that is far less green than its Tiffany or Tropic counterpart.

Apparently, I chose IMPOSSIBLE colors. Not only did every tuxedo manufacturer jump on the Tiffany bandwagon in a BIG way, but it's impossible to say "turquoise" without nineteen swatches of the wrong color in your way. Bob constantly carries a ribbon in his pocket to say, "Match this, please" with all wedding-related hoo-ha.

Honestly, I'm getting a bit burned out on the whole enterprise. This is all I've ever wanted, but as long as I have Bob, we could get married in our high school and I wouldn't care. Oh wait, we ARE getting married at our high school.

Tune in for more wedding tales!

last - next