biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

entropy works
March 31, 2004, 7:19 pm

High: Spending Friday night drunk at Have a Nice Day Cafe with Fiestada, who insisted at the zero hour we be social and crash the free happy hour of this guy who knows this girl she knows. Seriously, BEST IDEA EVER. If the five dollar drink anything until 10pm thing isn't incentive enough (thanks, doll), the fact that there's a light-up floor, Salt-n-Pepa, and me shakin' it like a Polaroid picture should be. Incidentally, we'll be there next Friday, too. You should come.

Low: Having to give the SATs feeling like walking death because I was so hungover. I'm telling you, there's nothing quite like handling the future of 30 or so kids while reeking of cigarettes and booze. I spent the better parts of the morning trying not to vomit on the test booklets because far be it from me to screw up someone's reading comprehension multiple choice.

High: Saturday night spent with partners-in-crime Ann and Amy, drinking too much beer at TGIFriday's, and then seeing the brilliant cinematic masterpiece, Starsky and Hutch. Most of the movie I squealed over the mere presence of Snoop Dogg, and then guffawed anytime Will Ferrell was on screen. Go lit and you'll swear it's better than Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind...well, almost.

Low: Grading. Grading. Grading. Grading. A veritable Mt. Everest of dead trees with obnoxious ink scrawl mocks me from every avenue: my desks at school, my bedroom floor, the Drama Studio. Seriously, I have to question my own sanity sitting through a million essays on who gets the blame in the deaths of Romeo and Juliet.

High: See Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Just go. Really.

Low: The Board of Ed sent a higher-up to interview me today for the expulsion hearing. During the meeting, I had to recount the entire experience, blow-by-blow, and cried. I also had to defend my teaching style, my classroom set-up, and why I jumped in between them in the first place.

High: The woman from the Board was very kind and just lovely. She told me, "Honey, if the Lord Jesus Christ had come down and broken up that fight, that child would have hit him, too. Don't you let this dampen your enthusiasm, girl." Oh yeah, the bastard will never set foot in another AA Co. public school again. He showed up to the conference and started screaming and being an ass, at which point lovely Dr. B. replied, "This conference is over. I don't have to hear another word. Get out of here."

Low: This kid has had a shitty, shitty life, and while it doesn't excuse his behavior, I feel bad for him that he's so messed up. I feel even worse for the other 209 kids I have who may have horrible home lives but don't act out so poorly. Nothing is ever said for them, or done for them. They rise above it, and all of my attention is focused on a kid who hasn't.

High: Godspell rehearsal kicked ass. My Jesus (you'll remember was assigned the part two weeks ago), was so powerful and amazing that he moved the entire cast to tears. Also, I have cast an African-American Charlie Brown and a Korean Jesus, so I'm feeling pretty good about those nasty "racist" charges.

Low: Losing to Fiestada at trivia last night.

High: "I successfully mixed Summer's Eve with Ever Clear..." --Stancovet (he meant to say "Country Tyme Lemonade"...I have no idea either).

I'm okay. I love you.

last - next