biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

happy festivus!
December 23, 2006, 8:57 pm

Are you ready for Festivus?!?!

To a Seinfeld fan, the terms and origins of Festivus need no definition. To a Ravens fan, however, the term "FESTIVUS" applies to the playoffs, and since the Ravens have denied us the please of a FESTIVUS for a while, the t-shirts are flying off the shelves.

I'm having a very Ravens Festivus and Christmas this year, due in part to one Bob the Builder, whose generosity and need to spoil me apparently have no bounds. I entered my classroom on Thursday to find a Ravens stocking, a wind-up Ray Lewis, Ravens antennae topper (what up, The Burn?), a pink Ravens ski hat, a Ravens flashlight thing for my keychain that projects a Ravens logo a la the bat symbol, and many, many beads. During lunch with the English Department, my magic gave me a Ravens Santa hat which I promptly put on my head, and then Bob had to tell me to take it off to find tickets for the Bills game on New Years' Eve.

"Did it pain you to purchase these things for me?" I said.

"Well, I wanted to make you happy," he stammered, "But really, I feel as though I'm breaking every moral code I have. I feel a little dirty."

Bob, you see, is an avid Steelers fan. Where I tend to agree with some people that perhaps this match up may spell our ultimate doom, we both agree that it wouldn't be fun if we rooted for the same team. That they're dire enemies makes it even more exciting!

last - next