biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

real american heroes
February 07, 2006, 3:19 pm

Because I was thinking the same thing, but could not have said it better, you get LA the Sage today.

"Saying good-bye to heroes.

I am in a funk.

Coretta Scott King.
Wendy Wasserstein.
Betty Friedan.

All in one week. Women of courage. Of talent. Women who stood the status quo on its ear and firmly insisted that we as a people are better than we'd been behaving. It was time to change. Time to live more honorable and honest lives. They wrote. They marched. They worked and made their voices heard. There is not one person living in America today whose life isn't graced and made better by these magnificent women's contributions.

And who is coming along behind these giants?���Paris Hilton.

And who is America going to mourn for?�����Grandpa Munster."

I read The Feminine Mystique when I was a freshman in college; I think some of the message that I learned has been lost as I turn towards wanting most the things that I never thought I needed now, just in the vague "someday". The truth is, I have existed as an extension of my career for so long that I do not know how to function as half of a couple. Today I came home from school and had NO IDEA what to do; I want to clean up the bedroom and organize a closet. I want to make a banging dinner and don pearls and a thousand-watt smile when he comes through the door; I want all those things that I am ashamed of wanting. If all of that produces hysteria, then I'm fucked.

last - next