biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

the man in the small brown hat
May 22, 2008, 7:45 pm

**This is one of those entries where I will potentially get angry emails from concerned readers demanding to know why I ruined all of that-movie-with-the-dude-in-the-brown-fedora for them before they have even seen it. Please, if you want to see that movie, stop reading and come back when you have satisfied your curiosity and/or relived your childhood in the theatre. This isn't so much a review as a chart of discovery.

That being said, I liked it, but I miss Sean Connery.

Last chance!

Okay.

Oftentimes in society, a person will claim, "That book/movie/album/show changed my life" with such sincerity that I will stop and pause and wonder about the pop culture influences that have done the same for me. I have probably written similar things in this journal, and I've definitely said it once in a while regarding Stuff I Hold To Be Important, like J.D. Salinger, or the Cosby Show; I will also say it in reference to Stuff That Is Funny When It Is Important, like Flavor of Love viewing schedules or Sex in the City parties.

But when I say that this new movie that is fourth in a series, starring that guy who played Han Solo wearing a brown hat and carrying a whip was very eye-opening for me and nearly a religious experience, I mean it; see, Indiana Jones confirmed that I believe in God.

No, really.

Bob the Builder and I scored sneak preview tickets for FREE from a co-worker to see said cinematic marvel at the Historic Senator Theatre in Baltimore. 12 Monkeys was filmed there, FYI.

last - next