biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

it's for real now
April 28, 2004, 4:19 pm

"I need to tell you something," he said as he bustled into my classroom while my students were working quietly and being lovely and I was busy typing up some field trip list that I should have yesterday, "seriously."

He is the Physics teacher, a man of very few words, and certainly none of which involve compliments. He was carrying an attendance folder and his hair was every which way and he was in a hurry.

"You have a lot of energy--" he continued, "a LOT of energy, and, and, well, if you don't want to teach here anymore, well, well, you should, you should find another school. The world needs more teachers like you..." he trailed off, and then started running out of my room.

"Thank you, that was a very nice thing to say," I said.

"It's the truth. You're awesome."

My students kept working in groups.

"We'll miss you!" he called from the hallway.

And then he was gone.

I looked around my room at my students who were starting to look at me, their attention briefly diverted from the travels of Odysseus and his self-important ways.

"Okay guys," I said, "let's get back to work."

last - next