biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

like mother, like daughter
June 02, 2006, 4:58 pm

So I get in from an exhausting day where I was forced to teach in a classroom that was 91 degrees (lightning hit our coolant system; apparently it's okay for four buildings to not have a/c as long as one does) and being sick and meeting with the kids for the last time, and then cancelling dinner and drinks with Dave because this cold will. not. go. away. and I'm miserable, and my dad meets me at the door.

"I didn't go to work today," he said.

"How come?"

"Because your mother's school called and told me that she had to go to the hospital in an ambulance."

"WHAT?!?"

Apparently, my mother, over the stress of her impending field day, 40 events, 65 parent volunteers, and the county mowing the grass at THAT INSTANT somehow managed to get her heart rate to 260.

That's right...she should have been dead.

At the hospital, as my dad aptly put it, "They flatlined her" and gave her a drug to completely stop her heart to slow it down. Good times.

She's fine now. More than fine, even. But still.

I guess I come by my stress-becoming-physical thing honestly.

last - next