biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

for real, SEVEN HUNDRED DOLLARS
April 03, 2005, 5:02 pm

Buzz, buzz, buzz: the show is on Thursday, and despite my lead wasn't present for the past three rehearsals, the sets are in a state of half-completion, the music sounds horrible and the kids are upset, the locker bank I ordered and spent a good deal of money on (I figured it was an investment) may have been the WORST decision I've made as director, and there remains two dances that haven't been choreographed, I'm optimistic that it will be a good show.

What people don't realize is that working with student-actors is that their lives are not their own. They are at the whim of every family member's schedule, dental appointments, transportation, etc. They have AP tests and boyfriends and all of that stuff that can distract them from what they're supposed to be doing. They're tempermental and unbalanced; they're frustrated easily and immediately and then the next second, they're golden children. It is not an easy thing to do, corralling their hormones and their energy into getting something done.

But I know, no matter how badly I'll freak out this week, they'll pull it together. They sense I'm stressed and frustrated, and I need to control that aspect of my personality a little bit more. I don't have all the answers, and I still have no idea what I'm doing, but what I do know is that despite all of my complaining to my family and my tears I keep hidden from others late at night, on Thursday, well, they'll be proud of themselves. I'll be proud of them. They'll remember it always.

I just hope to God that I don't lose anymore sleep.


Spent a good evening with my dear Fiestada and the state-side KatSlater, and realized that a) damn, I missed Kat's delicious outlook on life and conversation and b) damn, I need to do that more often.


Reading _A Prayer for Owen Meany_; this book may change my life.


On Saturday night, Thumper and I were driving up 695 and that emo-esque, Dashboard Confessional-like Blink 182 song came on, and I was wearing that hot pink coat that Weet and I have, and I instantly became nostalgic for everyone at Weetacon a month ago. Weird, huh?


Honestly, who spends $700.00 on MEAT at Sam's Club?!?! I ask you!

last - next