biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

it's the most wonderful time of the year
November 19, 2005, 8:12 am

My God, I cannot WAIT for Christmas.

I have sporadically turned into THAT OBNOXIOUS CHRISTMAS GIRL. I am storming malls with lists, insisting that Harley have a stocking, and that Thumper help me decorate the tree. I bought matching (!) red and green parkas for Jack and Jill (I don't think I need to tell you how adorable/scary that is) and I have spent an inordinate amount of money on the following: gift bags, wrapping paper, gift tags, ribbon, and cards. I have also gone around the house saying things like, "Do you think it'll be too much if we put some fake snow here?" or "Do you think the dogs will get into the gifts if we put them here?"

I am a one-woman Holiday machine.

Thanksgiving should be everyone's favorite holiday because it celebrates the Four F's: Food, Family, Friendship, and FOOTBALL. Honestly, what is better than those four things? (Okay, fornication, definitely...) This year is a bit crazy what with Nicki in California (she's having dinner with family in San Francisco) and with Thumper coming over, not to mention who could be my future in-laws coming to my parents' house, also.

That's right: Thumper's mom and step-dad are coming to my house. If that's not serious, I don't know what is.

It's not that I'm nervous; they all love each other almost as much as Thumper and I do, and it's not that I think it'll be awkward or anything, it's just FOR REAL just about.

They're totally not going to understand the constant blaring of football, or the mad rush when the board games are pulled out, but it's my family and they're an extension of me, so I guess they'll have to love them too, right?

I am also coordinating the English Department's Secret Snowflake program for the second year in a row, so that's super fun. I'm instituting rules this year because last year everyone tried to ruin the magic by charting who everyone's Secret Snowflake was and thus figuring out their own. Bastards. I might need to administer a ruler slapping policy if it happens again.

last - next