biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

the question
November 16, 2004, 6:19 pm

Last night something happened so ridiculous and idiotic, I can only describe it as surreal. One of the bar's resident hangouts approached Lefty and I and commenced on the following diatribe:

"You're not dating yet? Are you FOR REAL? I'm telling you what, I'm 41, and I have a daughter. After my divorce I never thought I'd get it back, but you know what? She's amazing, this girl I'm dating. She wants to raise my daughter with me, and that's amazing. And you two, you two have that. You HAVE IT. Not anyone can come in here--wait, wait, I see the way he looks at you, Jess, and you know Lefty, this girl, well, this girl I could have left my wife for, she's so sweet. Life's too short, man, life's too short, and dammit, well, not anyone can come in here and talk for four and a half hours like you guys just did. Think about it."

The silence was over our heads like the smoke, and when it had cleared, we looked at each other, and Lefty whispered to me, "We've actually been here for six and a half hours."

He bought me chocolate roses because I scoffed at him telling me that I was being "silly ridiculous."

I took off school today, saw Polar Express and Bridget Jones 2, and cried myself home.

last - next