biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

truth
March 02, 2008, 12:30 pm

I always knew that I would be first of my sisters to get married. The dress, the rings, the planning, the excitement: it would all be mine. By the time it was Nicki and Christina's turns, we would have it all figured out. I would be the trailblazer for the Biensoul Sisters, as I have always been.

I was wrong.

My sister, Nicki, is getting married on August 16th. I am thrilled for her, and actually, since I have Bob the Builder, am not terribly upset I'm not the first. I'm the maid of honor, I'm doing the invitations, and I get the glory for a job well done in the planning department. I'm obsessively on The Knot, not for my own fantasy-stuff, but for my sister, who is admittedly clueless.

I've come to terms with not being the first one to do something for once, mostly because I feel that finally, Nicki has a leg up on me. It's no secret that as the middle child, she's been the long-suffering one of that syndrome; now that she is the victor in the society's view of the life-race, fair play to her. She had it coming. If nothing else, it has been a wonderful catalyst for a lot of healthy choices up in this piece.

Thank you for caring and writing to me that you miss me so much. It's true, I have a lot less to say these days because life is gloriously busy, and gloriously wonderful. Feeling fulfilled and genuinely happy doesn't lend itself to journaling as it should. I will try, but I'm not making any promises. Maybe I have less to say because I'm significantly less than I used to be...try almost 30 pounds less than who I was the first week of November. That's through Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's. It has been terrifying, frustrating, and the single best thing I've ever done, and I'm sticking to it. My sisters have lost a combined 92 pounds, my mother 40, my father 20-some, and my boyfriend around 25. Let's just say we're a commercial for a very prominent weight-loss corporation waiting to happen. It's tough, but it's getting easier every day.

So many things going on, but all of them are awesome. That is the truth.

last - next