biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

7-11 victory lap of HYTOfest 2004
June 20, 2004, 8:19 pm

Ah yes, HYTOFest 2004 was last Friday night. If you don't know what HytoFest is, Read here, get acquainted with the past two years' worth of hijinks, and then hear about this year.

All in all, it wasn't the throw down puke-off-the-bus-and-then-slide-and-do-a-keg-stand of years past. The weather was rainy, there weren't as many people, and I was missing my all-awesome dance partner, KP; however, things were looking up as one by one everyone else disappeared and I was left alone with CNET.

Yep, Hyto left, and it was his house! CNET were left alllllll alonnneeee, and drunk, and you KNOW what happens when I'm left all alone and drunk with someone.

This is the part where I tell you he fell victim to my wiles and we engaged in some sweet, sweet lovin'....okay, sweet, sweet, DRUNK lovin'.

Unfortunately, we saved most of our energy for the jaunt to the 7-11 at 3:30am.

Once everyone had left, CNET and I determined if we were going to spend the night on the bus, we'd have to have cigarettes to smoke to push along the conversation. We also determined that Gatorade was in order to stave off any impending hangovers. The 7-11 was right across the street (Reisterstown Rd, by the by) and dammit, we could walk.

I don't remember much of the 7-11 visit, but what I do remember is me knocking over a rack of H0stess Lemon Pies, CNET demanding Advil "by the case", and then at the checkout, CNET saying to the clerk, "Sir, I feel lucky, I need two Maryland scratch-off tickets." Of course, mine lost, and his was a $10.00 winner, at which point he did a victory lap around the 7-11, YELLING AT THE TOP OF HIS LUNGS the entire way around the store.

We went back to the bus, a handful of candy and cigarettes apiece, and as we settled in to go to sleep, I remember thinking that this was the time. THIS was the moment to break it down and tell him everything I had bottled up for the better part of two years: that I fell in love with him the moment he referenced "Sarcastic Clapping Family of Southhampton" the first day we met, that he understood my sense of humor and called me Gorgeous and that we were MEANT TO BE TOGETHER because he has two brothers and I have two sisters and wouldn't our families get along just great? Wasn't I adorable and funny and wasn't he well-read and jovial and weren't we EXACTLY what the other person was looking for?

So, I bit my lip, lit a cigarette, and took a deep breath...

"CNET..."

"Yes Gorgeous?"

"I need to tell you something..."

"What is it, Jessi?"

The moment was hanging over our heads and the cigarette smoke and the Grateful Dead bus and the chocolate melting in my hand: this was the time.

"CNET...I, uh, I, uh, damn I'm drunk."

"Go to sleep, Gorgeous. I'll wake you up in the morning."

So I did. And he did. In the morning, it was beautiful and crisp and early, and we left with a hug and that was it.

DAMN. Now I'm going to have to wait until NEXT YEAR to tell him...

last - next