biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

in a white hair, on my red head
July 28, 2005, 10:45 am

Staring in the bathroom mirror last night, I realized two things: 1) the mirror needed cleaning, and 2) my roots are REALLY showing. I made a mental note to call and make an appointment with Hair Goddess Samantha, wiped the mirror clean, and saw a huge white hair on the front of my head. Turning in to bed and saying goodnight to Thumper...

WHAT??!!?

No, No, No, No, I shrieked, It's a trick of the light! But it wasn't. It was a wiry, long, WHITE hair; not gray, but devoid of any pigment whatsoever. This cannot happen to me at 26 (okay, a week away from 27, but still). It ESPECIALLY is not allowed to happen to me because I inherited all the Mediterranean hair in my family; if I have to suffer body hair so thick and coarse that I could braid it, then I get the bonus of never going gray in my lifetime, right? RIGHT?!?!

In my haste to put the entire thing behind me, I attempted to yank it out, but the DAMN THING wouldn't budge. Seriously. Not only do I have a white hair, but I have the fortitude of platinum in my scalp. I abandoned my tugging after successfully ripping out enough hair to give myself bangs and flumped on the bed. Tired and dejected and feeling nineteen years older than I am.

Thumper has two or three gray hairs mixed into the sides of his head. He looks very distinguished that way. It's dead sexy, if you ask me...why can't I feel the same about my own distinguishing characteristics? I don't think it's viewed the same way on women.

My mother started going grey when she turned the ripe old age of nineteen. Now she's a platinum blonde out of a bottle that she has never been able to abandon. She claims she won't go au naturel until she's a grandmother. She has a while to wait, fortunately.

last - next