biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

christmas card extravaganza
December 11, 2002, 10:44 pm

I'm writing out my Christmas cards, and I'm sure this is not uncommon amongst those of us who keep online journals, but everytime I write a card, I feel the need to write things that are grippingly personal, memorable, or long-winded. My Christmas card list, therefore, is always well-planned, thorough, and saved for those who deserve something a little "extra" from me during the holiday season.

A lot of this bombast, however, is going out with the window with Weetabix's card exchange. I signed up for it thinking that I'd get a lot of cool cards out of it, and I was right! What I didn't bargain for was my staunch writer's block by writing out cards for people I've never interacted with or spoken to before. What would you say to a complete stranger during the holidays? How can I possibly sound sincere wishing someone I've never met a happy holiday?

Easy: creative cards. So I'm doing the Polaroid thing for a lucky dozen on the list. For the rest, I'm sending "survival guide" cards and trying to write something personal, funny, or witty in each one. A few examples:

(To Amy in VA): "Amy, Merry Christmas! If you see my ex Sean, tell him I still have his SUPERDRAG cd. Thanks!"

(To Elizabeth and Noah, who reside in NY): "Despite being a huge Orioles/Ravens fan, I wish you a Merry Christmas!"

And it feels nice. I'm sending a little holiday love to people who are probably going to have a good holiday anyway, but they're getting a little bit of me with them too. I'm sending envelopes to places like Australia and the United Kingdom, Oregon and Kansas, and someone I don't know will open them up and think about me for the 2.5 seconds it takes them to read my card.

In the spirit of holiday giving, if you'd like a special BIENSOUL holiday Polaroid, email me your address, and I'll be happy to send you one.

In the meantime, keep writing your cards! :)

last - next