biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

i'm such a sucker for a high school football game
September 27, 2002, 10:37 pm

Remember that whole thing about staying at home and going to bed?

Yeah, didn't happen.

Went to the football game. Glen Burnie was spanked soundly and firmly, right on the ass. 26-0. Ick.

My sister Christina called and said, "Christian is coming with me." (Not to be confused with Booga's Christian, mind you.) I got my keys and hightailed it to the door.

I spent the evening walking up and down the bleachers with Christian, introducing him to my students, letting him walk with my buddy Brettski to the edge of the football field, and watching as he played on the golf cart with our Athletic Director.

Christian is Christina's godson. He is, to put it bluntly, the most joyous, adorable child that anyone could ever hope to meet. He is the light of our lives and our surrogate nephew/grandson/brother; he is everything that I hope to have in my children personified.

He has cerebral palsy and has a rough time moving the left side of his body.

Christian was born two months premature and was found to have had a stroke in the womb. The prognosis wasn't good: in fact, if he lived, there was serious doubt whether he would ever walk, talk, or live long.

He's a year and a half now. He toddles everywhere. He tries to speak in complete sentences. The only thing unusual that anyone ever notices about him is his head full of blonde, fluffy curls.

He is proof to me that some miracles happen. I don't tend to get this way, but he's proof that there's something or someone, like God, looking out for us.

At least, that's what comforts me. And it comforts Christian's parents. That's all the faith I need.

last - next