biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

the happy list
October 10, 2002, 6:34 pm

When I was in high school, my friends and I formed the "happy folder." In it, magazine articles or snippets that made us smile or feel morally superior, funny drawings, pictures of cute celebrities, paper to draw on, and an assortment of things that made us feel "happy."

Most notable in the calvacade of happy paper were our personal "happy lists." These lists were scrawled upon lined notebook paper, usually during class, and contained the secrets to a long, happy life as we knew it. They were simply lists of things that made us happy, and in listing those things, the desired effect took hold of us.

I need a happy list. I don't care if you understand it or not, but here it is for today:

*TGIFriday's honey mustard

*the drought being over

*soccer season nearing its end

*students that sent me a Teacher gram today

*the lightbulb going on

*my "Event Staff" long sleeved t-shirt

*pajama bottoms

*my stylish bedroom

*going shopping with Mom

*Trivial Pursuit 20th Anniversary Edition

*the "cabinet meeting"

*my sister quoting the Simpsons just now

*Ed Elvis Banky, betta fish supreme

*getting Ben Folds tickets

*Bobby

*Ravens are in 1st place (2-3, but still in first place)

*No one was killed by the sniper today in the greater Baltimore/Annapolis/DC/Northern VA. region

*Homecoming

*new Jane today

*new EW today

*Bob and Beatrice's cult following (inflatable aliens that I keep in my classroom)

*vociferate!

*healing feet

*the guys I work with

*bedtime

*Saturday Night Live

*smirnoff ice

*Yaya

*Snickers bars from my Secret Pal

*Halloween parties

*watching _A Raisin In the Sun_ with Sidney Poitier with my classes

*free sodas

*my students asked me to their Homecoming dinner

*wondering if it's appropriate to go to aforementioned Homecoming dinner

*donuts...mmmmmm...donuts

*the lady at Dunkin' Donuts who always says, "Oh, mocha, right?" when I pull up

*pumping Snoop loud as hell in my car

*new car smell

*Annie and Eli in love

Okay, I feel better now.

last - next