biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

troy is getting married: part 2
April 5, 2002, 8:30 p.m.

I need to qualify yesterday's entry.

Troy has not called me, nor have I spoke of him really, since we broke up two months ago. YESTERDAY, I got an email from him, saying "I have interesting news." He immed me, then he called me, long story short: he's getting married.

Him: "I met someone. She's perfect. This is the best relationship I've ever been in, and we're getting married."

Me: "Well, congratulations."

Him: "That's not how most people have reacted. Don't you have anything else to say?"

Me: "Gee Troy, no. You see, I've spent the past two months thinking you hate me because you've never returned my calls or my emails, and today you call to let me know you're getting married. It's just a little much to take in at one time."

Him: "Well, yeah, I can't believe you thought I hated you! We said we'd stay friends!"

Hummph. I proceeded to drive to Towson where Natalie and Mike felt sorry for me and told me I was better than that, etc. etc.

I spent most of the evening deciding whether to be like Julia Roberts in My Best Friend's Wedding ("I've got three days to break up a wedding and steal the bride's fella") or Meg Ryan in When Harry Met Sally ("All this time I thought he didn't want to get married; he just didn't want to marry me. What's wrong with me? *sniffle*"). My life went to romantic comedy like *that*!

Him: "She's just amazing."

Me: "Well, she has to be if she beat me."

I can be cocky when I want to be.

Mike's lesson: "You know when I got over Megan? When I realized something."

Me: "That she was psycho?"

Mike: "No."

Me: *shrug*

Mike: "When I realized I was better than her."

Amen to that, brother, amen to that.

last - next