biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

entering the whale's vagina
October 20, 2005, 9:46 am

"Honey, look! We're entering the Whale's Vagina!" --Thumper, as we landed in San Diego

Yeah, there's been no shortage of Anchorman quotage up in here.

On Tuesday night, my sister, Thumper and I landed in San Diego much to the delight of my other sister, Nicki, and her boyfriend Nick. Nicki had NO IDEA that Christina was coming, so she predictably flipped out and warm fuzzies went around with everyone. We drove "on the 5" to their apartment, which wasn't as nearly as small as they led us to believe, played Phase 10 and drank beer, and I wish I could tell you what happened the rest of the night, but I had had two Benadryl, a beer, and had been up for 21 hours straight, so you know, I passed out. I'm lame.

Wednesday, we traveled to the beach and saw a surfer break his arm (I wish I could feel more sorry for him, but it was awesome) and just stood at the waves, pondering the meaning of life and all. I dipped my toe in the Pacific Ocean (it was fucking cold) and then Thumper got sick.

We went to Vons, probably the nicest grocery store I've ever set foot in, to get lunch and Thumper some medicine; we rode the Grand Dipper roller coaster at Belmont Park, we ate dinner downtown at some brewery and it was awesome and all was right with the world.

Today we're going to the zoo (zoo, zoo, how about you, you, you...), and then we're going to barbeque on the beach. Life is good, and JournalCon hasn't even started yet!

Don't get scared, though; I love San Diego, but I'm just not a West-Coaster. I don't absolutely hate California really, but it's just not for me. It's a nice place to visit, but I'm definitely not living here.

last - next