biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

chances are my chances are awfully sleepy
October 04, 2003, 8:54 am

[Note: I had to rewrite this crap due to my server crashing (again). Sorry.]

I spent Thursday running around in a panic, and I showed up at my house at 5:00pm with my hair twisted in a bunch of elaborate braids and curls, a blister on my toe, and a backseat stacked with meat and cheese trays. The limo parked outside of my house blocked the driveway, and the limo driver helped me carry some of the food. I had exactly five minutes to put on my makeup and my dress while my family screamed for me to hurry up.

The film turned out great. It was really fantastic. The sold-out crowd was entertained and very receptive; the actors were pleased. And me?

I was ecstatic. Entering the theater, I heard, "MISS B!" A dozen or so of my kids, all dressed up in their prom finest, were there. They presented me with flowers and with a HUGE card. AWESOME. They freaked out about Zak, interviewed Mike, and just told me they loved me. Those kids, I tell you, they mean so much to me. The event pretty much catapulted into the "incredible" stratosphere with their attendance.

So...the party. The party turned out well, I thought. I've never thrown what I would call a "bad" party. The karaoke definitely blazed all night in a very good way; the highlight had to be my good buddy S-M-R crooning "Chances Are" for my mom; I have to say, and I'm not ashamed to admit it, I was definitely harboring a school-girl crush on him during the song because he was SO good. I swooned, I'm telling you, I swooned like a 1950s teenybopper in a poodle skirt.

Scotty fueled the atmosphere with "Copacabana" and inspired a conga line (well, *I* was the conga line, but whatever). "Rico had it right, man," said Scotty, "Fuck anything that moves, and get the hell out! Rico lived man!" Important advice, indeed.

Zak and I rocked the mike with three Tenacious D songs (in deference to Mr. Black's appearance on tonight's SNL); my favorite being our rendition of "City Hall (We'll Lead As Two Kings)." Whenever you get the chance to warble about Rock'em Sock'em Robots, I highly encourage you to do so.

S-M-R and I shared my bed, snug as bugs in a rug, and then the stalwarts: Mike, Zak, myself, and S-M-R headed off to Denny's the next day for some yummy grub. I crashed around 3:00 or so and didn't wake up until this morning at 7:45am. I guess I needed it.

My dad was awesome. "Who didn't I card?" Everyone should have a catch-phrase.

BTW: People of Austin, Texas: in two weeks' time, I will be infiltrating your city with my east coast brand of partying. Beware, be afraid. AND, if you're going to JournalCon, I'm reading at the "Web Writers Gone Wild" seminar, so come out and see me. Oh yeah, PARTY IN MY ROOM on FRIDAY NIGHT. My boy Leebozeebo will be there; shouldn't you be?

last - next