biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

goodbye Ridgewick Road
August 13, 2002, 4:45 p.m.

I changed my license to my current address today.

When we moved out of the old house, I remember calling my phone number, the phone number I had had my entire life, at midnight. I cried when the cold operator's voice informed me that the number had been changed.

It's been 8 months since I've lived in the house, and I think I've finally let it go. I may still dream about it sometimes, but not as often as I used to. I don't say "You can take the Biensoul girls out of GB, but you can't take the GB out of us!" as much as I did 4 months ago.

I don't make wistful trips by it and goggle at the new front door. I don't wonder about the red carpet upstairs or the bar in the basement. I don't think about my initials carved in my old closet door.

I didn't even blink when the lady behind the counter at the MVA took away my license that read Ridgewick Rd. as it had since I could drive and gave me a card that said my new address.

"Check to make sure your address is correct."

I looked. It said, "Annapolis, MD."

Yep, I guess it is.

last - next