biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

dave responds
January 27, 2003, 6:32 pm

Jessica, Jessica, Jessica; it's not gonna' get you in trouble, but

me being me, I felt the urge to comment. Taylor ain't Nat Brat dear. No way,

no how. Although Taylor's situation resonates of me, you, and Mike freshman

year at some point, that's where I believe any similarity to the people we

know, stops for Taylor. That year was to important in our growth as people

to not be present in the things we write somehow. Frankly, I wouldn't want

to identify myself with Taylor. She starts off strong enough; a woman who's

been effectively raising a child on her own, is finally getting over the

jackass father of her child and marrying a responsible guy, etc. But by the

end of the script she is a confused, lonely, alcoholic who serves no real

purpose on her own. Beyond Brody Campbell, few characters stack up as having

any real depth in this script. Taylor kind of de-evolves into a broken

reflection of who Brody is at the end of the movie; a plot device at best.

She started as some kind of generic attempt at writing an ideal, but like

all ideals gets shattered by the reality she's thrust into. I hope I don't

sound like a dick or anything, but I really felt it was important you

understood Taylor wasn't really based on anyone we know (in an obvious sense

anyway, writers always borrow from life to some degree, but in this case I

think Mike and I grabbed snippets from everywhere). I don't know why I

thought it was so important to say all that, but I have and I think I'm done

now. I believe Taco Bell is in order now. Love ya' kiddo.

last - next