biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

elise
July 30, 2002, 1:49pm

I talked to Heather, Heidi's sister, about plans for the baby shower in August. Then I called Heidi (continually reminding myself not to drop the bomb about the shower since it's a surprise). Heidi is ecstatic and glowing: I can hear it in her voice as she talks about Elise...I can imagine she's stroking her rotund belly that looks so out of place on her petite frame. Elise will be born on or around Sept. 14th, so the doctors say. Elise will be girly and refined and she's currently pressing against Heidi's bladder with a vengence. I will give Elise Ravens and Orioles jerseys, insure that she has a ton of books and a bookcase, and hope that she has a good and healthy life.

I am nowhere near this responsibility of bringing another dear child into this world. I am nowhere near living with another human being in a romantic setting. I have no prospects and I'm not getting married any time soon (although I spent the better part of yesterday reading a bride magazine and picking out wedding favors...).

Perhaps polishstreak puts it best:

"24 isn't SO old, is it? I'm starting to feel suspiciously like the old crew's poster child for spinsterhood. And what freaks me out more is that I totally KNOW I'm not ready to get married-- how are all my friends ready for this? When did I become a rider of the short bus when it comes to this whole growing-up deal? I don't even WANT to catch up at this point, I just want them to stop moving forward, you know?"

Amen, sister, amen.

last - next