biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

grandma's salon
June 19, 2003, 11:58 pm

I've been thinking about my grandma a lot today, and before we left for Bethesda, I had my hair cut at her old beauty parlor.

I mentioned to the lady next to us that my grandmother came here all the time, and when I told her my grandma was Doris, she gasped...

"Which one are you?"

"Jessica."

"Oh my gosh, did your grandmother think the world of you three. And you! You're so smart and so accomplished; your grandma told us all about your scholarships and your jobs and your grants and awards. How nice that you teach at GB...oh, I think about her often, it's odd, you know? I'll be talking to my sister and I'll just mention Doris, just like that. You're a dear and she loved you so much."

I know, I know.

Death and Birthday weirdness in my family: my Great-Yaya died on my birthday; my Great-Grandma died on Christina's birthday; Nicki was born on our Great-Papou's birthday; Sydney died on my Great-Grandma's birthday; Papou died three days before Dad's birthday...

I am fascinated by the grief process, you know? I think I'm over things and wham! It's a Thursday in June and I've forgotten Gaga's birthday and the tears are streaming and I would like my hair cut because it needs it and yes, my eyebrows are thick and my, please wax my lip, and yes, I am going to a funeral, wrap it up.

It hasn't been a good day, but it's fine. It won't stop raining.

last - next