biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

substitute this
September 30, 2003, 6:06 pm

Sub Plans: The bane of every teacher's existence.

Oh, I know, you LOVED it when your teacher was sick in school, just so you could bank on the next day possibly being a sub day where you and your buddies could talk the whole period, or do absolutely nothing, or throw things, or steal your teacher's kleenex, or whatever else you wanted to do when your teacher wasn't around and you had little or no authority telling you what to do.

Having a substitute is twice the amount of work than just going into school and teaching, let me tell you. First, I have to actually write lesson plans (which I never do because uh, I just DO IT), which is tedious at best. Second, I'm forced to give my classroom and desks the once-over to insure that they're presentable, which is never a light task for me. Next, I have to leave it all for a stranger to find, and then just resign myself to the fact that all my hard work has been in vain because really, the kids won't do it anyway. It doesn't matter for how many points or who I call, it just won't. Parents don't believe me if a kid is misbehaving because I wasn't there; subs don't know kids that well, so they can't put their finger on who did it...

*sigh*

It is a hassle.

I'll stop crying.

I have a movie premiere on Thursday. Behold my hot, black dress and my foxy, foxy hair. Oooh. Must get eyebrows done.

Well what did we learn today? Tell your kids to be nice to substitute teachers. That is all.

last - next