biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

damn, it feels good to be a gangsta during testing
May 19, 2003, 2:35 pm

I'm pretty darn sure that under the rules and regulations for administering the Maryland High School Assessment, there's no space that says it's against the rules to enjoy music during the test. Furthermore, I'm pretty sure it says nothing about certain teachers' cd players clicking on and blasting "Damn It Feels Good To Be A Gangsta" by the Geto Boyz at full volume. Well, at least it doesn't say it is against the rules in MY administrator's manual...

Imagine, my students, kicking ass and taking names and ECRs on the HSAs, diligently working without any prodding or poking from me, and then, as they're entering the home stretch and pencils are breaking by their feverish scantron circling, the alarm on my cd player clicks on and blasts the song like it is supplying the soundtrack for some guy's viewing of Office Space in Texas. I leapt from my desk so fast I knocked over a stack of papers, and I managed to turn it off before it bellowed, "A real gangsta-ass nigga plays his cards right", so no real damage was done save for a class of giggles.

I'm really impressed with my kids. They did so well today. They were focused, on-time, and circling around the room, it looked as though they were actually doing things correctly, so I'm encouraged. They seemed to think the test was easy, so I don't know if that's a good or a bad thing.

I'm updating yesterday's entry on the Preakness race because I know you want to hear more about my drunken exploits and encounter with Caution-Tape-Nutsack Guy.

I'm pleased with Andrew's selection on the "Bachelor"...Kristen/Kirsten/whatever was a total bitch. Though I don't think it'll last, Jen was the better choice. I'm really looking forward to The Amazing Race; seriously, it's the reality show everyone in the family can agree on!

Off to the chiropractor's office...*creak crack sthwack*

last - next