biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

eulogy facts
August 31, 2002, 10:07 pm

My throat hurts.

Not just in the "I've been teaching all week and yapping at my kids for 8 hours a day and hooting and hollering at the soccer team" hurt, but the "I've been blubbering at a memorial service and had to give a eulogy hurt.

Probably a little bit of both.

Fact: I've given four eulogies in my lifetime.

Fact: All of them I've written within 4 hours to 15 minutes to nothing of having to give them.

Fact: My cousins mentioned several times today that they didn't want to follow "cousin Jessica, the English major". I had to go last.

Fact: There was a huge red-and-white carnation #3 hanging in the front of the chapel. My uncle was buried in his Dale Earnhardt jacket and t-shirt. A fan to the end.

Fact: I didn't think that this was tacky at all, but endearing.

last - next