biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

i won my own pool
March 24, 2003, 6:04 pm

Last night, I did the diaryland equivalent of "dialing drunk" by "guestbook crashing drunk". I apologize to the guestbooks and to the people that own them for befouling them. *sigh*

So, I won my own pool (completely legitimate, I assure you). I was stunned, considering that I was way off on Best Actor/Actress and Best Supporting Actress. I even tanked on categories like Best Animated Short (I thought that "Mike's New Car" was a shoo-in) and Best Foreign Film. The Cinematography category separated the men from the boys, as it became quite clear who had seen Road to Perdition and who hadn't. Conrad Hall certainly belongs among the angels as he's one of the only people who could frame it so well.

I'm pleased for Chicago, and I'm also pleased that The Pianist won a few very deserved awards. I'm not surprised that Michael Moore spouted his mouth off about the war, but that's what living in America gives him freedom to do. I am thankful that we live in a country where he can voice his opinions and I don't have to agree with him.

My favorite outfits belonged to: Diane Lane, Renee Zellweger, and Nia Vardalos.

The party was great; it wasn't as "off the hook" as last year, but that's okay. People had to work today, and I respect that. I wasn't as nearly as drunk as I was last year, but pretty tipsy nonetheless. I think everyone had a great time, what with the prizes I gave out for "Best Picture BINGO" and "Best Dressed" this year. The food was AWESOME. Mom and Yaya really came through.

The most amusing part of the evening was our "Cell Block Tango" performance. Christina, Shea, Kara, Ann, Kerry, and I did the whole thing: complete with slutty black outfits and writhing all over each other. I taught them the choreography at 4:30pm, and Kara didn't know it at all, but it was funny. I wish I could do more things like that more often.

Anyway, I'm taking my sister to go see Chicago since she hasn't been yet. I'm sure no one will mind if I belt out all the songs...

last - next