biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

letter to the people in charge
October 30, 2008, 6:54 pm

Dear People-In-Charge,

I sincerely appreciate that you have put our economy in the shitter. Due to your actions, the following things have happened in my life:

1. My big, fat Greek wedding is now a considerably leaner, meaner deal.

2. I had already signed contracts with all my vendors guaranteeing such and such a number, making sure such and such could be paid without putting Bob the Builder and I in debt. Now that everything sucks, we cannot afford to pay those contracts. People do not look kindly on it.

3. We cancelled our honeymoon.

4. People who received Save-the-Dates are now not invited to our wedding. Do you have ANY idea how embarrassing it is to make that phone call?!?!

I can't fault you all the way, though. Because of your shittiness, the following has also happened:

1. Bob and I have decided what is more important to us (our marriage) than any silly amount of blue tulle can project.

2. People have been very, very understanding in these trying economic times about now not being invited.

3. We are getting married in the place where we got engaged. If you read the paper, people-in-charge, you will see that we're getting married in our high school lobby area. That's because we're teachers and for us, THAT'S our church.

4. We have the most supportive, wonderful group of colleagues ever. They're footing the bill for our honeymoon and sending us to Mexico.

5. I realized that I can throw a way more fun, awesome wedding than any bitch on Platinum Weddings with very, very limited funds.

So TAKE THAT, People-In-Charge, I hope you understand that you're affecting EVERYTHING, not just homes and livelihoods and what-have-you, but childhood dreams. I cannot WAIT for this coming Tuesday.

Sincerely,
Person-So-Clearly-Not-In-Charge

last - next