biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Sasquatch on the loose at Annapolis Mall; Film at 11
October 05, 2002, 10:27 pm

As most Mediterrean women can attest, we are a hirsute bunch; oh sure, German women can pack on the hair, but I'm talking about thick, coarse wires that feel as soft as razor blades when quitting time rolls around. Shakespeare was undoubtedly speaking of a Mediterrean lover when referencing the "black wires" that encompassed his/her head in Sonnet 130.

Seeing as how I'd like to retain some type degree of beauty according to society's standards, I'm forced to tend to my unruly hair through various torture methods. Processes that leave my skin a daunting vermillion for hours on end. That's where people like April come in. April, of trendy Bubbles salon, applied hot wax to my face and using tiny cloths, ripped out all the hair that was out-of-place. And I paid her big bucks to do it. All in the name of beauty.

Red face burning, I walked around the Annapolis Mall; I was a paroxysm of consumerism! I was a woman on a mission: Torrid, Lane Bryant, Hecht's, Bath and Body Works, Hair Cuttery--no store was safe from my plastic-laden wrath!

Of course, I ran into about twelve students who attend my school...red face and all.

On Monday, the entire student body will be discussing my unsightly lip wax and my nontrendy shopping getup (unshowered, stringy hair in messy ponytail; wrinkled khakis; ripped Shakespeare t-shirt; flipflops).

Dani, the chatty lady that cut my hair after the plethora of scary student encounters said, "Well, at least they're saying hi to you. They're acknowledging you as a person. If they didn't like you, they'd ignore you."

Or make fun of my face.

********************************************************************************

I hope to update more frequently than I have. I'm feeling quite tired when I'm getting home recently. If I'm not updating every few days, yell at me, okay? Okay.

last - next