biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

i narrowed it down to three bags
June 21, 2004, 3:47 pm

"Sit down. Sit down RIGHT NOW. We need to talk."

"Mom, I'm in a hurry, I have to p--"

"I know exactly what you're doing, Jessica Lynn, and that's exactly what we need to discuss."

"Hmpphhh. *seat cushion squeak*"

"Now, I know you're excited for your trip, honey."

"Yes--"

"And I know your sisters have given you a hard time about meeting someone over in England because God knows you haven't found anyone over here..."

"Hmpphhh."

"But Jessica, honey, what are you going to do about all of THIS?!?"

"I need it."

"All of it?!?"

"Yes."

"Are you sure?"

"Absolutely."

"Jessica, you've packed four suitcases."

"I'm well aware."

"You're only going to be gone for seven days!"

"Well, I'm not sure of the weather!"

"KatSlater told you what to bring."

"But I NEED all of this."

"Why?"

"Because we're going out, so that's dress-up clothes, and uh, what if I spill beer on my sweatshirt or something?"

"She has a washing machine."

"But what if it's some sort of freakish British washing machine that eats Yankee t-shirts and jeans for breakfast?"

"Jessica..."

"Mom, I NEED all of these clothes."

"How many pairs of shoes did you pack?"

"Errr..."

"Be honest."

"Four."

"Now be honest."

"Eight, but I originally had twelve, and I can justify each pair!"

"Jessica Lynn, I am opening these suitcases, and I am going to dump everything on the floor, and then I'm going to sort out what you really need versus what you think you need."

"NO!"

"Then get up to your room and reorganize, and if you can't narrow it down to two bags, I'll do it for you."

"*sigh* Okay. *stamping up steps* But if I get caught on some crappy British tv show looking like a stupid fat American with no fashion sense, IT'S YOUR FAULT!"

I'm so fucking excited my feet can't stay still. There are tiny butterflies running into the walls of my stomach, and my passport is burning a hole in my pocket. I am tickled and honored and blessed and so, so lucky to have a friend like Kat who is so graciously letting me stay with her, and so ridiculously lucky to have a buddy like fiestada to play Phase 10 with me on the trip over. We will take lots and lots of pictures of ourselves drunk and trying to make out with Palace Guards.

I have to finish packing. I'll miss you when I'm gone.

last - next