biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

a long december
September 20, 2002, 10:20 pm

"...and there's reason to believe that maybe this year will be better than the last..."

Counting Crows' "A Long December" is one of those songs that instantly changes my upbeat mood to winsome and nostalgic. It puts the neurotransmitters in my brain on cool down; I zone out and try to grasp what this song encapsulates:

it's freshman year of college.

It's the beginning of "the" relationship, and its first kiss...and the song is so true because it'll end and I know that but I don't care.

It's hearing other people sing the same song with the same bittersweet quality: a slow smile and a slightly quavering voice.

It's a pre-nostalgia song: I knew I would be upset when I would sing it later. It always works.

"I always knew that I look back on the times that we cried and laugh; I never knew I'd look back on the times that we laughed and cry..." --anyone know who is responsible for this quote?

**************************************** Car mileage report: 383 miles in 4 days. Yeah, I know.

last - next