biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

here comes the ocd not-even-engaged bride
January 26, 2006, 6:38 pm

There are loads of things wrong with completely mapping out a guest list of a non-existent wedding (y'all are invited, btw) and then carefully choosing floral patterns, cake styles and centerpieces as if one were actually engaged and not just pretending.

My therapist explains that OCD is like a parasite; when it leaves one thing, it latches onto something else. So far I have kicked the urge to use hand lotion every 5 minutes, the fear of Kool Aid choking me, and the thought that any second, my car will crash, killing thousands of five year-old children. It's liberating, really. I never believed that these were things that I could control or that everyone else had. I'm dealing with it, which puts it in stark contrast to everything else I've ever done.

Which brings me to the next big thing: Thumper and I have hit an impasse that has been completely created out of my mind. Me: ring, wedding, babies. Him: hot wings, beer, hot sex. Hmmmm...actually, now that I think of it, we are perfect for one another. His list IS better.

I can't say that I'm not entirely stoked about the whole wedding planning thing in advance; it doesn't help that the internet has a LOT of resources for the bridally obsessed...now I just have to double-check that I'm happy with the life I'm to build, not just bridesmaids' dresses.

Although, there are a TON that are GORGEOUS...but shouldn't life be, too?

last - next