biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

a silly dream
June 07, 2006, 10:05 pm

I had the silliest dream.

Fans, thousands, lined up along hallways, clamoring for autographs. Flashing bulbs. Signs. Pictures.

Me, dazzling, smiling, in sunglasses. Wearing a dress that costs more than all of my clothes combined. Manolos. Glamorous.

Shrieking, screaming, hands outstretched, flashing bulbs. I shake hands. I hug. I smile.

They are students. I am walking down the red carpet of a hallway and there they are...wanting to be near me, hug me, etc. I have just signed a deal worth $10 million for my next year as a teacher, says Seacrest.

This silly picture, this outpouring of total idol worship and fandom and my ridiculous wealth...it could never touch the real picture of a circle of 25 students, sitting, crying, telling me this:

You are loved.
I only come to school because of this class.
I was hospitalized last year for trying to kill myself, but I found friends here.
You are wonderful.
You touched me.
You made me feel special.
You made everyone feel special.
I thought I hated gay people, but I found friends that are gay, and I would not have talked to them if you hadn't made me.
You made me try something new.
You made me better.
I love you.
You are the best.
Thank you.
Thank you.
I love you.
Thank you.

And it happened again the next class, too.

These are kids; kids who come from rough neighborhoods and good neighborhoods, from money to nothing, from parents to guardians, and these kids, they're good kids. These are good, good kids.

And they love me.
They'll miss me in this room.
But they'll visit.
They promised.

If I made $10 million a year, I wouldn't get this from them, and they wouldn't get this from me.

last - next