biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

my students are amazing
May 16, 2003, 10:37 pm

Something happened in my classroom today during fourth period.

One of my students burst into tears while presenting her poetry portfolio. Then, another student did the same a half an hour later.

I bit my lip in anticipation of the fallout: surreptitious glances, nervous titters, rolling eyes. What I saw was a few other teary eyes and a raised hand.

The second time, in awe, I nodded at T___, recognizing him so he could speak.

"Jen," he said to his classmate, "I think it's very brave that you shared what was obviously a really personal poem with us. Thank you." T____ doesn't like Jen, but I tell you what, everyone loved everyone then. Compassion? Caring? Empathy? Respect? THESE ARE NINTH GRADERS!

I was flabbergasted. The kids applauded and smiled and cried along. They supported each other and appreciated the effort and embarrassment that went along with the assignment.

"Jen! We are strong! I love you!" said Jess, the former crier, as Jen sat down at her desk.

It was, I think, one of the best educational experiences I've ever had. I hope for them it was, too.

_______________________________________

"How did Thespian Inductions go?"

"Well, I think Ms. B was really nervous, but then she started hugging everybody, so then she was okay."

--CNET and one of my kids, respectively, on Thespian Inductions

_______________________________________

PREAKNESS TOMORROW! (You've been forewarned.)

last - next