biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

kevin spacey: the thinking man's sex symbol
February 05, 2003, 8:15 pm

I hate getting waxed. Who decided this was a good idea? "Hi, I'm a cosmetologist and I'm going to put some scalding hot WAX on your face with a popsicle stick, rub it hard with some masking tape, and then rip it off as fast as I can! Sound like fun? Great!"

The truth is, the situation was dire and I desperately needed the wax to stay trendy and swank in our society that prizes hairlessness in women above all else. Truth be told, I feel a lot better when I'm all cleaned up and I have two eyebrows instead of one; a lot more confident and a lot less un-glamorous. Kind of like when I go through my entire pre-date preparation ritual.

It still hurts like a biatch, though.

Speaking of untended facial hair, I bought a Frida Kahlo book at Waldenbooks for $3.99. I studied some of Kahlo's stuff in college (before the movie, thanks) in my women's studies clah-ses and while I was familiar with her self-portraits of her with her monkeys, I was completely blown away by her pregnancy/abortion/miscarriage/bloody mess pictures. I knew something about the prevelance of skeletons in Mexican art as a symbol of both life and celebration, but juxtaposed with bloody sheets and stitched-together spinal cords? Haunting, creepy, and mesmerizing (sp?).

I love Booga. Send positive energy her way, okay?

I can relate to her current position of stressfulness, restlessness, and general unease. It's no secret I've been a relative basket case lo these past few weeks, what with filming, schooling, examing, acting, afterschooling, party-throwing, and whatnot. My only afternoons free have been spent doing stuff that doesn't involve school directly but desperately needs to be done (i.e. waxing, picking up some extra books for the classroom library, taking the car in for its 7500 mile check-up...oh wait...hasn't happened yet).

I'm hitting a breaking point to be remedied only by more cowbell. And the fact that my Jane came today. And that Kevin Spacey is on the cover of movieline.

And the Bachelorette, but if you tell anyone that I watch that show, I'll hit you with something heavy, I swear.

last - next