biensoul


a required taste for the pretentious as all get out


navigation
current
archives
profile

stuff
bio
rings
cast
best
q-n-a
card
reviews
12%Beer

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

take a sledgehammer to my back, please
May 29, 2003, 12:08 pm

Define irony? Sure!

How about the day after an article about how my high school in no way, shape or form participated in a "sick out" published by yours truly runs in our local paper, 24 teachers are out sick? How about that *I*, the most vehement and strident of the nay-sayers, am also out sick today, with next to no hope of procuring a doctor's note?

I thought so.

I woke up this morning with my back so stiff and sore that I thought it was broken. I'm not sure it's entirely structural in nature (hello, kidneys! Thanks for not rearing your ugly heads for quite some time, but this is just plain bad timing! Why don't you just go and get inflamed and torture someone else for a change, huh?), and Dr. Ray isn't in his office today anyway.

Been spending all day in hell on my back, staring at ceiling, and my dinner plans with fiestada are in Jeopardy!

Perhaps this wouldn't be so bad that I feel slightly defensive of the fact that I was out late last night, but all of you know that I NEVER call out for a hangover. I really don't. I go to school and stick it out, knowing full well that I put myself in the position of being miserable. Nope, this is different.

Good news on the Joe front; we were out last night together for Skip's birthday, and we went to The Crease for dose of shenanigans and goings on. As my Skipper is no longer present, I was happy to see Cory tending bar, and we spent a good part of the night flirting in the bar patron/tender way, talking about Best In Show and A Mighty Wind. I wrote him a dirty poem, and I felt a little sad about the fact it wasn't going to Skip, but c'est la vie.

So Joe brought his friend Brad, and although he was kind of tied to him like an anchor since he didn't know many people, I found a lot of quality time to talk up Joe and flirt a bit, too. Skip told me that the mission I gave him was successful: Joe is most definitely interested, but he's a bit shy, and felt he needed to "plan his attack" (I'll spare you the Agent-speak, but it's definitely funny if you're there). Joe and I spent the evening casually touching, smiling, all the little things that form the basis of the initial flirtations and silent "I like you"s that fuel crushes.

At the end of the night, Joe and I stood at the door, keeping everyone else waiting.

So, I guess I'll hear from you soon, but I know how you forget to call people sometimes. Skip told me.

Dammit, Skip is telling lies! I mean, uh, well, kind of. Listen, don't listen to Skip, but listen to Skip...can you decipher that message?

Aye, aye, mon capitan. Okay, bye.

Trust me, I floated out to the parking lot.

So goes the pattern of me having crushes on people for ridiculously long times and then having it vindicated much, much later. *swoon*

last - next